School of Communication Grad Student is Finalist for M4 Competition

School of Communication graduate student Steven Pope is one of two CCI students selected as a finalist in the Master’s in Four Competition on April 4, 2019, in the FSU Student Life Building Auditorium hosted through The Graduate School at Florida State University. The Master’s in Four (M4) Contest is a competition in which contestants have […] »

Sindy Chapa Publishes & Presents Work on Hispanic Marketing

Dr. Sindy Chapa, an assistant professor at the FSU School of Communication, recently presented her work at the Hispanic/Latino Media & Marketing (HLMM) conference. The work Chapa presented at HLMM is a chapter of the recently published book, Latinx Voices: Hispanics in the Media in the U.S. Her chapter provides a general overview of the Hispanic […] »

Comm Alumna Named Executive Assistant for Worldwide Women’s Ministry

Lindsay Durrenberger (’08, B.A. Communications) has been promoted to Executive Assistant for Blessed is She, a worldwide online Catholic women’s ministry. Because it is online, Lindsay works from home full-time allowing her the flexibility and freedom to spend more time with her two sons and husband. Her day-to-day will vary but generally includes social media management, […] »

Jenn Topper: Comm Alumna and Director of Communications for National Nonprofit

Jenn Topper (’06 B.S. Studio Art, ’07 M.A. Media and Communications Studies) is currently working in Washington D.C. as the Communications Director for the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press. The Reporters Committee provides pro bono legal representation to journalists and news organizations with the goal of protecting their First Amendment freedoms. Many times, […] »

Comm Alumnus Named Associate Director of the FSU Testing Center

The Office of Distance Learning (ODL) announced that Dr. Joseph Clark (“Joe”) will be taking over leadership of the Florida State University Testing Center. Joe will be guiding the staff in pursuing new initiatives as part of improving ODL’s assessment and testing services. A key goal of ODL’s strategic plan is to ensure that the Testing […] »

Eleven Students Selected for Prestigious MAIP Internship Program

The American Association of Advertising Agencies (4As) selected eleven students from FSU’s School of Communication and from FSU’s School of Information for a one-of-a-kind experience this summer through their Multicultural Advertising Internship Program (MAIP). The Program works with advertising agencies across the country to place selected diverse applicants in open internship positions. With a mission “to […] »

Alumnus Makes Impact as Dean of Students at University of Cincinnati

Juan Gaurdia Headshot

Juan Guardia (’97, B.A. Communications) is the Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students for the University of Cincinnati. Guardia serves students and their families as they navigate the college experience through support services and resources committed to students’ advocacy, safety, and well-being. He oversees several areas that focus on issues impacting students’ […] »