Communication advertising team wins big at local ADDYs

Arrowhead Advertising, the award-winning student advertising team at The Florida State University’s School of Communication, took multiple honors at the Greater Tallahassee Advertising Federation’s annual ADDY Awards gala on Feb. 20, 2010.

The awards recognize outstanding creative effort in the advertising community.

The team won four Gold ADDYs, a Silver ADDY and a Best of Show for entries from last year’s Century Council campaign to reduce binge drinking on college campuses. The team’s entry won the district competition and placed 10th nationally last summer in the National Student Advertising Competition.

“These students put in a great deal of work and sacrifice and it’s great to see their effort recognized,” Barry Solomon, Associate in Communication and the team’s faculty advisor, said.

The Century Council challenged student advertising teams across the country to decrease the national rate of high-risk drinking among college students ages 18 to 22. To meet this challenge Arrowhead Advertising set out to conduct extensive primary and secondary research, which led to the development of a fully integrated campaign “Redefine,” aimed at redefining the national drinking culture.

“It was interesting to research our own demographic,” team member and research director Liz Lamar said shortly after the district win. “We knew we had to base our strategy in strong research in order to develop a successful campaign.”

Arrowhead prepared a 32-page plans book and a 20-minute presentation consisting of research, creative executions, promotions and media placement. Students on Arrowhead worked on the project for two semesters and developed their campaign from concept to implementation.

Gold ADDYs were awarded for the print campaign “Redefine,” the television spot “Rhythm Redefined,” the non-traditional advertising “Disruption Day,” and the mixed media “Redefine” campaign, which also took Best of Show. The team’s Silver ADDY was for the “Redefine” campaign’s plansbook.

Team members were Jonny Arcila, Nicole Brooker, Jesse Damiani, Pam Diaz, Michela Fleury, Alysse Goodwiller, Courtney Griffin, Rachel Hewitt, Alex Jones, Liz Lamar, Elena Mlotkowski, Laura McNamara, Vanessa McPhill, Monica Perez and Shawn Price.