CCI holds 2013 Convocation & Awards Ceremony

Florida State University’s College of Communication & Information held its Annual Convocation and Awards Ceremony on Nov. 16 in conjunction with the University’s yearly Homecoming festivities.

The keynote speaker for this year’s convocation was alumna Ms. Ann Thornton, the Andrew W. Mellon Director of the New York Public Libraries.  The theme of Thornton’s speech was “Benevolence, Beauty, and Boldness: Perspectives on a Profession.”  In addition to Thornton, distinguished alumni Dr. Virginia Walker and Dr. Vicki Freimuth were honored at the ceremony.

Awards were also given to Outstanding Faculty and Staff.  Here is a list of the winners:

School of Communication
Mark Zeigler, Research Associate and Instructor
Mary J. Ealey, Academic Coordinator

School of Communication Science & Disorders
Dr. Richard Morris, Professor
Lisa M. Jackson, Grants Compliance Associate

School of Library & Information Studies
Dr. Don Latham, Associate Professor
Shonda Sampson, Finance Administrator

Dean’s Office
Sandy Beard, Staff Services Specialist

CCI Leadership Board Awards
Dr. Jennifer Proffitt, Associate Professor
Dr. Michelle Kazmer, Associate Professor
Dr. Julie Stierwalt, Associate Professor

For a full version of the 2013 Convocation & Awards Ceremony program, click here.