Annette Goldsmith as chair of Batchelder Award Committee

In January, the American Library Association (ALA) announced the 2010 Mildred Batchelder Award. Each year this presitigious award honors the most outstanding non-English language children’s book published outside the U.S. and translated into English for publication within the U.S. Alumna Annette Goldsmith served as the Batchelder Committee Chair and was quoted in the ALA press release entitled, “2010 Batchelder Award honors Delacorte Press for ‘A Faraway Island.'”