Beta Phi Mu inducts Fall 2014 Members

This Fall, the Spring 2014 School of Information graduates who were nominated by iSchool faculty to join Beta Phi Mu, the international library and information honor society.

The new honorees include:

  • David Lee Atkins
  • Crystal Dawn Betts-Green
  • James Howard Bittle
  • Terri Chasteen
  • Jennifer Close
  • Janice Marie Dees
  • Ebony Kristina Filer
  • Rebecca Johnson
  • Timothy Kanke
  • Anastasia Myer
  • Sarah Marie Reeves
  • Lana Kay Rowell
  • Britt D. Webb
  • Natalie Woods

Beta Phi Mu is the international library and information studies honor society, established in 1948. Florida State‘s Gamma chapter is the second oldest, continually existent chapter. To be considered for membership in Beta Phi Mu, students must possess at least a 3.75 GPA. School of Information faculty vote after graduation each semester to induct academic leaders from each class into the organization, extending invitations to 25% of those with a 3.75 GPA. 

Dr. Christie Koontz served as the director of Beta Phi Mu from 2007-2013. “It was inspiring to see the rich history of BPM alongside our own at Florida State,” she said. “The name for BPM comes from the initials of the Greek words Bibliothekarios philax mathesis meaning “librarians are the guardians of knowledge”,” she explained.

To learn more about the Beta Phi Mu organization, visit or search for “Beta Phi Mu” and “Beta Phi Mu – Gamma Chapter” on Facebook.  You can also contact Charles McElroy, Secretary, Beta Phi Mu Gamma Chapter at or