Faculty, Students Highly Recognized at National Communication Association Convention

On November 8 – 11, 2018 students and faculty from Florida State University’s School of Communication attended the 104th annual National Communication Association (NCA) convention in Salt Lake City, Utah. The National Communication Association advances Communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media, and consequences of communication through aesthetic, humanistic, and social scientific inquiry. NCA is the nation’s oldest and largest professional organization for Communication scholars enabling and supporting their professional interests in research and teaching. Twenty-one faculty and students attended the 2018 convention.

In the Mass Communication Division, Dr. Arienne Ferchaud was awarded the inaugural Best Dissertation Award for “Binge and Bingeability: The Antecedent and Consequences of Binge Watching Behavior.” Drs. Katherine Dale and Art Raney received the Top Paper Award for “Exploring the Spirit in U.S. Audiences: The Role of the Virtue of Transcendence in Inspiring Media Consumption,” co-authored with FSU alumna Dr. Sophie Janicke-Bowles (Chapman University), Dr. Mary Beth Oliver (Penn State University), and Drs. Robby Jones and Daniel Cox (Public Religion Research Institute). After receiving this award, Dr. Art Raney said “We are thrilled to have been awarded the Top Paper in the Mass Communication Division, one of the largest and most competitive groups in NCA. We hope our work can be helpful to others exploring the potential positive effects of media.”

Along with our faculty, Ph.D. student Laura-Kate Huse (right) received the Top Student paper in the Applied Communication Division for “Am I Appalachian? Sensemaking of Appalachian Identity Through Personal, Cultural, and Media Interactions,” co-authored with Dr. Jessica Wendorf Muhamad. Additionally, Dr. Muhamad was elected as vice-chair elect of the NCA Applied Communication Division, and received a Top Paper Award in Association for Chinese Communication Studies. A handbook for which she contributed a chapter has also won the NCA PRIDE Award for Innovation, Development, and Educational Achievement.

“A very big congratulations to all of our faculty and students who were recognized for their amazing work at NCA,” said Dr. Jennifer Proffitt, Director of the School of Communication. “We had an excellent showing at this important national conference, a clear indicator that we continue to move forward in our never-ending quest for excellence.”

Congratulations to all 2018 Participants:


Laura Arpan

Juliann Cortese

Katherine Dale

Arienne Ferchaud

Zhe He (FSU School of Information Assistant Professor)

Jaejin Lee

Jessica Wendorf Muhamad

Stephen D. McDowell

Arthur A. Raney



Olivia Bravo

Vaibhav Diwanji

Nivia Escobar Salazar

Joshua Hendrickse

Alex Huebner (Ph.D. grad)

Laura-Kate Huse

Azmat Rasul (Ph.D. grad)

Muhammad Ehab Rasul

Elizabeth Ray

Cindy M. Stewart

Cen Wang

Yijie Wu