CCI Students Honored at FSU’s Annual Leadership Awards Night

On April 9, Florida State University students, faculty, staff, and student organizations were honored at the University’s annual Leadership Awards Night. Sponsored by the Division of Student Affairs, the ceremony honored those on campus that have gone above and beyond in their leadership roles.

Four students from the College of Communication and Information received awards for the exquisite leadership skills they presented throughout the 2018-2019 academic year. The following is a summary of the CCI members that were recognized at the Leadership Awards Night.

Fabuola Pierre with her Student Seminole Award

Senior Communication Science and Disorders student Kathleen (Katie) Coffey received an Academic Leadership Award which is granted to one undergraduate and/or graduate student from each FSU college. The award is presented to students who have excelled in academics, university service, and other areas in and out of the classroom.

The Student Seminole Award is presented to students who have contributed significantly to the university through leadership and service. Fabuola Pierre, a junior studying Information, Communication, and Technology is one of the recipients of this award.

Elicia Smith, a senior studying Information, Communication and Technology received the FSU Sports Club Officer of the Year Award (Eddie Cubbon Award). This award goes to one student that has exhibited excellent leadership, dedication, and spirit to their sport club. Smith won this award for her dedication to the FSU Tennis Club.

The Artes Award recognizes a student organization that exemplifies exceptional scholastic achievement. This year’s award went to Empowering Women Globally, a student organization that aims to promote “sustainable solutions that will ultimately result in women’s empowerment and gender equality,” according to the club’s description. Valeria Puchaicela, a senior studying Information, Communication, and Technology, is the organization’s President.

The College of Communication and Information would like to congratulate all of the students, faculty, and staff that were recognized at the Leadership Awards Night.

Elicia Smith with her Sport Club Officer of the Year Award